Muckanagh South

Civil Parish of Killeroran

Emma Ruane - Heritage Office Galway County Council

Muckanagh South

Muiceanach Theas, swampy waste ground

Muckanagh South is situated in the civil parish of Killeroran, Barony of Killian, County Galway. Located in the East of Killeroran parish, Trihill East bounds Muckanagh South. The River Shiven separates it from the townlands of Drinaun, Killeroran and Muckanagh North in Killeroran parish and Derreen in the civil parish of Taghboy, Barony of Killian, County Galway.

The Down Survey Map states the 1641 (Pre-Cromwell) owner was John Kelly (Catholic). Colonel John Kelly (Catholic) was the owner in 1670 (Post-Cromwell). There were 478 plantation acres of unprofitable land and 234 plantation acres of profitable land. 234 plantation acres were forfeited. The Down Survey name was Muckena.

O’Donovan’s Field Name Books indicates Muckanagh South is the property of D. Kelly Esq., who holds it under deed forever. The land is made up of bog and pasture. It pays £14-5-9½ County Cess.

Census 1841-1851

According to the 1851 census, Muckanagh South consists of 346 acres, 0 roods and 32 perches. The 1841 population was 130 people, 68 of whom were male and 62 were female. There were 19 houses, all of which were occupied. The population had decreased significantly by 1851 to just 21 people, 12 of whom were male and 9 were female. There were 4 houses, 3 of which were occupied. The poor law valuation paid in 1851 was £10-0-0.

Griffith’s Valuation 1847-1864

According to Griffith’s Valuation, Denis H. Kelly was the immediate lessor of the land. Holding 1 measured 67 acres, 2 roods and 13 perches of land and was divided unevenly between 30 people.

Luke Naughton paid £0-2-0. Patrick Carthy paid £0-12-0.

Laurence Farrell paid £0-4-0. Thomas Noone paid £0-8-0.

Patrick Keegan paid £0-4-0. Patrick Fallon paid £0-8-0.

James Healy paid £1-0-0. Patk. Healy (Hugh) paid £0-10-0.

Mary Healy paid £0-6-0. Thomas Healy also paid £0-6-0.

John Hannan (jun.) paid £0-4-0. James Hannan paid £0-6-0.

John Smith paid £0-6-0. Patrick Flynn (sen.) paid £0-8-0.

Thomas Hannan paid £0-7-0. Margaret Mooly paid £0-2-0.

Michael Farrell paid £0-5-0. Marcus Kelly paid £0-7-0.

Thomas Kelly paid £0-5-0. Patrick Farrell paid £0-4-0.

James Keighry paid £0-6-0. Michael Keegan paid £0-8-0.

Hugh Kelly paid £0-6-0. Michael Kelly paid £0-6-0.

Patrick Kelly paid £0-6-0. John Kelly paid £0-8-0.

Matthew Hannan paid £0-16-0. Mathias Nolan paid £0-8-0.

John Keegan paid £0-8-0. Malachy Keegan paid £0-8-0.

On Holding 2, Denis H. Kelly kept 278 acres, 2 roods and 19 perches of bog in fee worth £2-10-0. The total annual valuation of rateable property was £13-0-0.

This page was added on 08/02/2022.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.