Headford Musical Society

The society was formed in 1976 by Sr. Evelyn Glynn and some local people including Margaret Flanagan, Mary Gavin, Gerard Concannon, Clare Carey, Gabriel Monaghan , John Mc. Hugh and Frances O’Reilly.

We began life as a choral society and took part in Birr Choral festival and in Cork Choral festival. The most notable success in this field was winning the Ballyclare rose bowl in 1979. We also won an A.I.M.S. award for best chorus.

Contributed to our society

We became a musical society with the production of’Patience’ in 1980 and we were very fortunate to meet with two very talented people who contributed to our society in a very special way. We were fortunate to have the expertise of Mairead and Peter Berrill. Mairead and Peter produced and formed our orchestras for many years.

We have been very lucky as a small community that we had such a very talented pool of artists to call upon. Many names come to mind Brendan Duffy , Brendan Kyne, Michael Carey, Pat Heaney, Martha Lowry, Rosaleen Carey, Tim Landers, Margaret Flanagan, Sandra Scahlks, Collette Shaughnessy , Des Carey , John McHugh, Mary McHugh, Concepta McHugh, Annette, Fergal and Helen Cavanagh, Carmel Mortimer, Niall and Siobhan O Reilly, Sten Pears, Joan Crowe, Sheila Ronaldson, Ronan Lardner Michael Coen, Liam Thornton, Tim Pasley Ray Leonard R. I. P. Ray Buckley R.I.P., Sr. Elizabeth Synnott R.I.P Michael Forde R.I.P. Sr Louise.

As a society we won many nominations from A.I.M.S. over the years including: Best Chorus, Best Female Voice, Best comedy and best supporting female. Because we are restricted for space it is impossible to mention all the wonderful people who participated over the years.

This page was added on 27/08/2017.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.