A delightful walk, once known as ‘The Mall’ and ‘The Clanricarde Walk and River’, runs parallel to Main Street. ‘The Walks’ was constructed in 1691 by ‘levelling the old mound that ran along the northern side of the town in the days of the forti cation’1. Loughrea has the only surviving functioning moat in Ireland, and this can be seen at its best along The Walks. This charming watercourse traces the medieval line of defence, though the existing walls are not of medieval fabric.
09. ‘THE WALKS’ AND THE MEDIEVAL MOAT