Rayhill An Rechoill clear or passable wood

Civil Parish of Killallaghtan

Author: Jo Kelly/Galway Rural Development (GRD)

Rayhill lies in a north east part of the civil parish of Killallaghtan barony of Killconnell Co Galway. It is bounded by Newcastle, Hazelfort, Fahy and Lavagh in this parish and by Caltra and New Castle in the parish of Aughrim in the said barony.


O’Donovan’s Field Name Books give other spelling of this townland: Reidh Choill, Reighell and Roghell.


Down Survey Map give no information on who owned this townland in the 1600s.


The census gives no information on who lived in this townland in 1901 and 1911.

This page was added on 07/04/2023.

No Comments

Start the ball rolling by posting a comment on this page!

Add a comment about this page

Your email address will not be published.